Homemade DIY Liquid Fabric Softener

Downy Fabric SoftenerI had some left-over cheap hair conditioner in my bathroom closet that needed to be used or tossed. The problem is that it made my hair nasty greasy. I tried using it to shave with, but I didn’t like it at all. So a light bulb went off while I was doing laundry. I didn’t have any fabric softener for my towels. I remembered seeing a few posts on Pinterest about making fabric softener with hair conditioner. I had one pinned and decided to give it a go.

What you need:

  • 3 cups hot water
  • 1 cup conditioner (I used Suave)
  • 1 1/2 cups white vinegar

Directions:

Dissolve your condition into the hot water. Stir in white vinegar. Done!

I had an empty vinegar bottle that I kept for just in case. What a coincidence! Anyway, What I did was mostly dissolved the condition in the water, poured it in the empty vinegar bottle, gave it a good SHAKE, added the vinegar, gave it another SHAKE. Done!! Now I have something to keep it in.

Using The Fabric Softener:

What is amazing is that it only takes 2 Tablespoons for each load! This stuff will go a long way!!!

My Thoughts:

I wasn’t worried about the vinegar because I use it in my laundry often anyway. It’s a wonderful deodorizer. At first I was concerned about how long it would last before it goes bad. The more I thought about it, I think it will last a long time. Vinegar is a natural preservative (hence why pickles last so long). So I don’t think I’ll have a problem. I didn’t use tap water because I have hard water. I used drinking water from a jug instead. I am a little concerned that it might not be strong enough. I want my towels to feel good AND smell good. We’ll see! I am using it for the first time right now. I will come back to edit this with my verdict.

The Cost:

Without doing the math, I know it’s only pennies per load. But you know me. I’m going to do a comparison.

I am going to assume most of you will not buy the water. It’s so cheap coming out of a tap that I’m going to dub it as free. I bought a gallon of white vinegar (16 cups in a gallon), which costed about $2.50. ($2.50 divided by 16 cups multiplied by 1.5 cups [what we used] equals about $0.23). The conditioner costed a $1 at the dollar store. It took about half a bottle. So I’m going to say it was $0.50.

That means this entire jug costed $0.73!!!!! WHAT?! There are 44 loads in each jug, making it only $0.02 a load. I usually use Gain. It’s about $3.00 a jug. There’s only 21 loads in it. That’s $0.14 a load. BIG difference.

So if this fabric softener doesn’t do what I want it to, I plan to double the amount I use. Heck, it still would only be $0.04 a load. It’s totally worth it.

My verdict:

I’m absolutely in LOVE with this fabric softener! My towels did seem slightly softer and smelled wonderful. I decided to wait to give my final verdict and do a few more loads of laundry. It definitely did what I expected. The clothes were fairly soft and it smelled good. Just out of curiosity, I decided to put twice the amount (about 4 tablespoons) and holy guacamole wowzers! So much better than any other store bought fabric softener that I had ever tried. I will never waste money on store bought softener again!

Leave a Reply

