Nuttier Than Squirrel Turds

cartoon20squirrelI recently had quite an adventure. I spent 5 nights in the hospital. It’s not exactly the adventure that I had hoped for, especially with all the other craziness that has been going on lately, but I get a blog post out of it, so how can I complain, right?

Here’s my (shortened) hospital stay story.

So I was on an antidepressant that wasn’t working, so naturally my doctor switched me to something else. My husband and I had suspicions that I was having seizures, but they weren’t the cliche falling on the ground shaking type. So this made it a bit harder to diagnose. Well guess what? My doctor prescribed me another antidepressant that has a side effect of seizures. Dumb move.

I had JUST started my first job in over three years! My first week of training, doing good! Thursday night I take the new pill, Friday… I’m OUT!

I was just sitting in the seat, watching the other trainee and my trainer make phone calls to collect medical bills (ironic much?) and I look over and say, “I’m not feeling good.” Then I just pass out. Unresponsive for at least 2-3 minutes.

The EMTs come, check my vitals, and I tell them I’m fine. It happens sometimes to me. I promise them if I feel worse or it happens again, I’ll go to the hospital. Another dumb move. They leave, hubby picks me up, and we cruise towards my friend’s house where we’re staying for a while until we get back on our feet.

Before we get to the house, just a 15-20 minute drive,  I pass out multiple times. It takes at least 2 hours of staying at the house before my dumb ass decides to head to the hospital.

The next 24 hours is a horror story of passing out and seizures, needles, tight blood pressure cuffs, bright lights, hard beds, flat pillows, and nasty smells… that lead into the next day, into the next day, into…

I had an EKG, EEG, CAT, MRI, blood tests galore, and who knows what other tests, just to figure out that I have psychogenic seizures. The medicine “irritated” them and caused a spike, so to speak. Personally I believe the pill caused permanent damage because since this incident I have been having different kinds of seizures than before, including those where I shake uncontrollably, but that’s a different topic all together.

PLEASE DON’T MENTION LAWYERS IN YOUR COMMENTS.

That’s a bit too private for me to discuss in my blog, and I’m not willing to state whether or not I will actually be perusing legal action.

Anyway…

What’s worse is that I had to keep this damn thing (EEG) on my head for over 24 hours… If you don’t know what an EEG is, basically they glue a bunch of electrodes to my head. FUN times!

AIN’T I CUTE?! 

13087593_10153845299759093_6430146474344031991_n

So what are psychogenic seizures?
#1 They’re non-epileptic. Epilepsy causes electrical misfires in the brain. I don’t have those.
#2 It’s caused by stress.

That’s really all you need to know to get the gist of what I’m facing. It’s a catch-22 if I’ve ever seen one. Stress leads to seizures. Seizures lead to stress.

YAY!

I was so happy to get that shit off my head. The smell of the adhesive was horrible while putting it on, but nothing compared to the adhesive remover. I just had to treat everyone with the silliest “crazy” pictures I could muster.

So, to quote a good friend of mine, ” (I am) nuttier than squirrel turds and it makes (me) space out. Cool.”

If you would like to know more about psychogenic seizures, please check out epilepsy.com.

*** PS: I know some of you might be sensitive and don’t like that I am calling having psychogenic seizures as “crazy”. Please remember two things. #1: I am going through this. If you are too, I’m sorry. I wouldn’t wish it upon my enemy if I had any. #2: Humor is a healthy comping mechanism. Please don’t squash that for me. It’s helping. Thanks!
2 thoughts on “Nuttier Than Squirrel Turds

Leave a Reply

